Selected Excerpts from the Tules Telephone Directory

So my son is about to turn 11.

Eleven.

Years old.

And yesterday – the last week really – has been the most interesting array of moments. He’s right on the cusp, between being a child and being a pre-teen. But he’s been pinging back and forth, sometimes reminding me he’s still a kid and sometimes seeming like a new person. It’s amazing watching them transition; their little systems are updating before our eyes.

Things that have happened in the past TWO days:

(1) Ezra rode the Boomerang at Six Flags – a “high thrill” ride and his first big one.

(2) Ezra rode the kiddie train made of little jeeps.

(3) Ezra walked around looking like this:

Who Is This Kid(4) At another point in the same day, he looked like this:

The Flash and the Penguin(5) Ezra tried to drown me in the swimming pool by fighting with me in the deep end.

(6) Ezra had innumerable tea parties with me at the bottom of the pool and gave me kisses.

This is my life now. And I love it.

2 thoughts on “Selected Excerpts from the Tules Telephone Directory

Leave a Reply

