Our Family Delicatessen (A Hubby guest blog)

I like to cook because it’s fun and it’s art for you mouth – which is better than art for your wall. Basically, I like-a-to-make-it-taste-a-good.

I take special pleasure in putting store bought products to shame. I famously  make Reese’s peanut-butter cups (RPBCs) taste like crap; that is, in comparison to my homemade confections. (Don’t be silly. Why would I put real crap in peanut-butter cups? Not only would I then waste money on RPBCs, but crap is gross!)

I like to show my victory over corporate America in a very specific way. For example, my father-in-law, whom I refer to as Daddy, also enjoys the culinary arts and where he might show his satisfaction over a well-prepared meal by suggesting a price he would be willing to pay in a restaurant (Orange Shrimp…I’d pay 15.95!), I like to taunt corporate brands ala Denzel Washington in Training Day, “King Kong (substitute brand name or mascot here) ain’t got nothing on me!”

Which brings me to the point of this blog post.

I have been scouring all over Montreal in attempts to find a box of Jiffy cornbread mix for the better part of 2 years. It’s awesome. It’s already in a box, you add milk and eggs, it only takes like 10 minutes to bake, and it tastes great too. Auntizzle even brought us some from the US last time she visited. Well, no more begging at the nonexistent Jiffy teat for me. I finally went in search of ingredients to make some myself. (I know you Canadians out there have no idea how good cornbread is, let alone know what it is. It’s like Great Britain and orange juice). And…

Jiffy ain’t got nothing on me! It’s so good, AND BETTER, that I may even start my own Quebec-based cornbread distributorship. I topped it off with some homemade honey-butter too.

Too bad Microsoft hasn’t invented click-and-taste software yet.

5 thoughts on “Our Family Delicatessen (A Hubby guest blog)

  1. um, a few things:

    – will be be taste-tasting this cornbread tomorrow? looks yum!
    – you do remember what happens to D. Washington at the end of the film, right?
    – I don’t think “teat” is morning-reading-appropriate. I gave you an eyebrow-raise on that one, lol!

    Like

Leave a Reply

