I Need A Hero!

My. Word.

Today has been an emotional rollercoaster of exhaustion and humility and awesome. WriteOnCon is a virtual conference and I do not know how people do it in “real life”.

For me, just the critique forums – no longer the practice ones, but the ones that can be perused by the professionals – is a lot. Let me explain. Everyone seems to think you choose literary fiction – like to write that way. Most of the time, isn’t it more a question of what you read and what you prefer and honestly who can determine causality, as in which came first. One of the drawbacks to my orientation is that I seem to read differently from the more commercial audience. This is most apparent when I write something that is largely outside of that “genre” and the query seems straightforward to me. Me from now on apparently equates to the Mad Hatter. So, to the Mad Hatter, something is straightforward. Right. I got several “this is so confusing”, “I’m confused”, “confusion lives here” statements. And – this must seem strange to people – I’m wanting to give those critiquers the last word because…they are the commercial market and what good is a letter that no one understands.

And then I get comments that argue the exact opposite. Why must people be different? Aren’t we always saying how in life, everyone should think the same things all the time!

This is hard. I am in a pickle. And that’s just a smidge of the picture. Lord.

Anyway, having posted my potentially brain-frying query here yesterday, I thought I’d post my husband’s. No, I’m not kidding. My husband wrote a query for my book. And I think immediately I envy the simplicity of other people’s brains. It would take me years to write a simple sentence. Which is. Just sad. Anywhom, here it is:

Sixteen-year-old Avrilis knows her life wasn’t supposed to be a tragedy. She has lived it many times before. After her mother dies and her father abandons her in their mansion, Avrilis is forced to relinquish her life’s past repetition.

Desire for companionship drives Avrilis to save the life a street urchin, Kristopher, that was meant to die, but any deviation in this life causes the Sentient to emit a spark. The TeraSed hunt those that are thus charged in an attempt to preserve time everlasting.

The ensuing chase is thwarted by the aid of another Sentient who lead the two companions into the underground city of the hunted. The stakes are raised as Avrilis finds her father as the prophet of the underground, and discovers a plot to destroy the cycling of time, all while battling the memories of lifetimes past that draw her to her former love and longings of what once was.

Now Avrilis must choose between the boy whose life she saved and the one she’s loved in lives before. With the age again racing to its end and the freedom of the Sentient sparking changes no one can foresee, Avrilis must uncover the truth about her family while staying one step ahead of both the TeraSed and their prey.

So thanks, hubsy, for taking a moment while on-campus and “writing a paper” to write me an alternate query. O_O (It occurs to me that I didn’t edit it and he didn’t reread it but you get the idea. Hopefully he won’t be too upset.)

God, I need ice cream. And hugs.

I’m so lame.

9 thoughts on “I Need A Hero!

  1. STawwwwwwwppppppppp. Can’t believe you posted that last line. Unless you injured your leg.

    I really have no idea what this writecon thing is/was. Also, sorry I haven’t had time to get to your query yet. The short answer is that it needs some streamlining but the long answer is that I haven’t read your book so I don’t know half of what you’re talking about so I don’t know how to advise you to re-word it.

    Like

  2. You’re not lame and that query is certainly worthy of being called a hero in my opinion. Those differences in people are very frustrating and certainly a reason why I loathe contests sometimes. Well, when there’s actual feedback to explain the scores and their divergence it’s not so bad, but without that it can be vexing. Also, many people know they don’t like something or that something is, quite simply, “off” without being able to detail it nor even bothering to begin that thought process so… yeah. Take all comments and feedback from others with a grain of salt and through a strict filter. 😉

    Like

    • Lol – okay, the lame was for thinking about it so much. You guys are way too compassionate.

      I think one of the reasons we have to step away from reading agent blogs, being conference obsessed (by which I really mean ppl who go a lot) is that you will feel like you’re taking crazy pills. People, professional incl, will give absolutely conflicting feedback WITH “explanations” that don’t make sense.

      Like

  3. here’s my two cents–which I’m sure you don’t need, but your post upset me so I must speak.
    What I’ve read of your work so far is clear and brilliant.It tickles my brain and facinates my spirit.
    I appreciate writers like you who allow me to use my brain so I guess I’m biased in a way.

    Just so you know, I read all genres from classic literary to YA to graphic novels. (with the exception of James Patterson or Terry McMillan–I’m sure you know why.) I also write everything(Jackie of all genres master of none?? LOL)
    Here’s some serious advice though. People with talent, such as yourself, should not be in certain critique groups. The good Lord knows I’m not being a snob when I say that you will encounter in those online critique groups people with no appreciation for well-written/well-chosen words, for the refinement of good writing. I call these critiquers “critters”. They will bash and trash your work like idiot-savant chimpanzees because they don’t know better yet they think they know it all.
    I suspect you are objective enough to critique your own work and that you have intelligent writers among your friends who can be your beta readers.
    Be proffesional by being careful. You are not a robot so bad crits can psychologically harm your muse.

    Hmm. feeling better.
    Yes I have issues like this in my past. Please forgive the rant.

    Like

    • You know, to be honest, I think I’ve always assumed reading is to stimulate the mind – despite all the evidence there is to the contrary. But that’s what it is for me, so I’m equally biased.

      And you are very kind. Thanks for your support. I really do appreciate it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

