Speak, Petruchio, Speak

And so as my son settles into Kiss Me Kate (which he calls Kitty Kate) for like the seventyeleventh time, I shall try to remedy this whole blog-silence thing. First, I’d like to blame you, the reader. That’s just how I roll. It’s not me. It’s you. How many entries have I written? Mhm. And how many have you written here, you lazy lazy reader? Precisely.

Okay, so ever since returning from Niagara Falls, Ezra has been at Vacation Bible School every morning, I’ve working on “the book” (whelp, aside from not writing my blog posts, you also have neglected to name my novel wip). I’ve lost two full nonconsecutive writing days to evolution – which is to say, the outlined plot grows and evolves and yes, of course, tis beautiful – but I can’t just start back in writing, I have to let it settle with me. Anyway, it’s necessary things such as this that make daily word counts unrealistic (or at least counterproductive) to me. Of course there are more reasons than that.

Everyone gives writing advice. Says what one should and shouldn’t do. And they also titter over the successful story whose author did none of those things or all of the “don’t”s. Does this stop them from saying what not to do? Nope. Obnoxious. If it were only a business, perhaps this would make more sense. Because it is a business that relies on a personal creation, a personal art – this is just foolishness to me. It becomes business when someone other than the writer gets involved. Until then, this is mine, thank you.

8 thoughts on “Speak, Petruchio, Speak

  1. Oh, so true. The best advice I ever got about writing was from a friend of mine who just so happens to be an English professor and it was: All you need to know about writing you learn by both writing and reading – a lot. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

