Epiphanies, Translated

Hmm. Let’s think about this. After writing the first episode, I had the second episode literally dripping from my fingertips. LITERALLY. O_O Best writing week of my life (I say without considering the past because the point is that hyperbole or not, I can’t recall another constant week off the top of my head so who’s gonna call me on it? My journal? I don’t think so.).  Then I finished the second episode. And. I’ve not written anything since. A little plotting, a little character info. A little opening and closing of documents. I even wondered if I could write in one of my other WIPs. Of which there are several and I’d like to make a dent in the pile. But, nay. My brain wants to stay where it is and also doesn’t want to give me more of last week. The world is anything but fair.

That, my friends, is a pout.

And to keep from sounding like that person who complains about writing and how it’s soooo hard and gosh, it’s so hard because it’s just so hard. Hi. Writing isn’t an obligation. You know, except to quiet those pesky voices that chase you around your daily life like some awesome Steve Carell movie in which he’s haunted by something that nobody else can see. What I’m saying is, why does it sound like people expect sympathy because “the writer’s life is hard”. I don’t know. Sorry, it’s just me. Let’s move on then. After I say, I *have* to write because it’s part of my dna – therefore I don’t see what there is to complain about. Everything that comes with that process is something I feel compelled to do. If not, just write for mastur– yourself, don’t put restrictions or deadlines on it and don’t worry about publication. Problem solved. ?

Anyway, the point of this entry was to list my favorite writing moments.

(1) When a character surprises you. I’ve talked about this before, but it really is ethereal. When you’re writing a scene – either freely or having conceptualized the direction and/or outcome – and the character says something entirely outside of that. And you realize it’s because that is what he or she must have said. As in, I was outlining based on where I wanted to take the story and the character proved him or herself. I am the creator – I realize and acknowledge that these guys are not calling the shots and demanding their stories be told. But they (you?) remind you in those moments that if you have given them attributes and motivations and dimensions then you can’t force them to do something they wouldn’t do.

Best translation of that feeling.

(2) When you find out why. This is another one I’ve probably mentioned. But it’s unmatched. Really. You’re sleeping or walking around town or listening (heh – obviously not) to someone speak (usually to you, unfortunately). Suddenly, the world opens. If anyone could see inside of you, they’d see the olympic torch has replaced your heart and the fire is shooting through your veins to every extremity and your eyes are so wide, they can probably see it all from there. I’m pretty sure all drugs are trying to match that experience.  Suddenly you know: why she left town for two weeks; how they became estranged; how the disease was spread; why no one found out before now. Some magnificent, critical thing that makes the whole world snap into place. Aaaaaaah.

Best translation of that feeling.

What are your favorite writing moments?

6 thoughts on “Epiphanies, Translated

  1. My favorite writing moment is when I complete a long essay that I wasn’t really all that interested in writing in the first place. I can finally put it down and not have to think about feminism, krishna maruti, or deconstructing the ridiculousness of contradictory, unsubstantiated, and illogical conjecture.

    I’m not a writer so I don’t have any epiphanies to relate, just moments when the weight is lifted and I can say peace I’m out.

    Like

  2. My favorite writing moment is when I write “the end”. I’m usually in tears–don’t know why.LOL.

    My most interesting writing experience was (is) with this story that’s writing itself (very slowly I might add). It’s like my subconscious takes over and the darn thing goes places I don’t want to explore. The black Madonna (that’s the title) is about a twenty-four year old virgin who, on a routine vist to her gyn, discovers she is pregnant. I’m still researching how that can be–lol. And I’m struggling with plot. But the character story itself surprises me as I write; I never realized how much of an observer of human nature/personality/behavior I am. The strangest thing is, though, I expect the “why” to drop into my mind someday like manna. It’s not my main WIP (whip?) But it is my favorite because I’m so deep into my thought processes when I writing this piece that I feel not myself and out of this dimension, zone, universe etc. It’s exciting and scary at the same time and I’ll bite the head of anyone who dares to disturb me when the do-not-disturb sign(stolen from a hotel in my disrespectful youth)is on the door knob of my study.

    When I re-read what I’ve written after such a session, it feels like my best work, frustratingly something I cannot duplicate.
    Writing isn’t hard, but it is weird sometimes. finding time to write, now that’s hard. The internet is such a distraction when I have an hour or two in the afternoons. I try to write from midnight to 2. That’s when my brain is on point. How about you?

    Like

    • I’d say I write mostly in the space between midnight and the next day, but I distinctly recall writing all the way through the day, particularly when my son was a newborn and he’d lay awake in my lap while I wrote.

      I love how that happens – how the premise comes first and you start writing when it’s still somewhat “silly”, because you don’t know why it is what it is. I’ve had a couple of those myself. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

