Tag, I’m It!

So, Steph – my dear writer friend whose cyber-bio-punk novel-in-progress is rocking my socks, just sayin’ – tagged me in the Be Inspired Blogfest Meme. And right off the bat, no – I shan’t be tagging anyone, worry not. My blog followers don’t so much dig the whole “you do this now” thing.

1. What is the name of your book?
Whelp, since I can only answer more than like two of these questions if I *don’t* choose my work-in-progress (which btw doesn’t have a title either) – let’s go with Keepsake, my novella. ::pets Keepsake::

2. Where did the idea for the book come from?

I was laying in bed “about to go to sleep” ::snort:: and I was thinking about how un-sci-fi the present is, I mean all fictional futuristic movies considered. Like cloning, I thought. In real life it has nothing to do with actually copying the person, so much as copying the DNA. You’re not gonna get the memories or – WAIT, what if cloning was all aBOUT memories only it was about getting rid of them or storing them for safekeeping and the clone was just part of that extraction process? ::glitterbomb::

3. In what genre would you classify your book?

I call it Speculative Literary fiction…even though it’s pretty historical, too.

4. If you had to pick actors to play your characters in a movie rendition, who would you choose?

Dolores/Elsie, the main character… I have no idea. Someone who could play several copies and something called a fragmented Source. And I really don’t wanna use Keke Palmer for errything. But she’s ridiculously good looking and this isn’t a musical so no harm, no foul. Only I’d have to see how she looks with copper colored hair. That and it’s really aggravating that I really can’t think of a lot of young (Elsie’s 19…oh but her Source gets up to 3o-something-ish – so I’d rather cast someone in their late 20s who could play both) black actresses in roles where they got to demonstrate range. O_o

But I found this picture so I’ll base it on that.

Harvey Parrish could be played by either a somber, younger James Franco or…I don’t know. (Okay, I say that but I can’t find a single picture that comes close. Darker hair, serious face – no smizing! – no facial hair, which is harder for me than it is for anyone, beLIEVE me. Mama likes burly man. …. Confession: I was this close to just posting a picture of my husband that I like A LAH.)

Okay, so maybe that works but a) less intentionally intense, b) darker hair, c) longer hair – this novella is set in an alternate 1920s. Use that pomade, honey and also make it wavy.

Update: I’ve been trying to keep this quiet so as to spare the feelings of these actors… but they are all wrong for this story. Please, dear blog reader, replace them with Aja Naomi King and Max Greenfield, respectively. (I’d do it myself but I can’t find a picture of Mr. Greenfield not cheesing…)

5. Give us a one-sentence synopsis of your book.

In an alternate 1920s Montreal, Elsie – aka Extract No. 1 – struggles to define her identity beyond being a Mem, a clone born of a memory.

6. Is your book already published?

No. Currently, it’s among Lord knows how many that’ve been submitted to the Paris Literary Prize. Woot.

7. How long did it take you to write your book?

Between September and December 2011.

8. What other books within your genre would you compare it to? Or, readers of which books would enjoy yours?

That’s a hard one. I’m thinking of Kindred by Octavia Butler, but I don’t know if I’d say readers would feel the same. And I kinda fried my brain on the casting question so ::wanders off::

9. Which authors inspired you to write this book?

No one inspired me to write *this* book. I’m sure my work is influenced by the voices I love – Alan Lightman, Toni Morrison.

10. Tell us anything that might pique our interest in your book.

Isn’t that what the logline was supposed to do? Well, in writing Keepsake, I did a lot of research on Montreal between 1906 and 1926 and that was probably the coolest thing. There’s a huge historical element to it and it was interesting to place a technology that didn’t exist within an otherwise accurate portrait of the city.

11. Tag five people!

Okaaaay – you! You five huddled together? Yeah, you.

Sorry. I tried.

2 thoughts on “Tag, I’m It!

Leave a Reply

